Teacher Grants

Since 1994, the Hoover City Schools Foundation has provided grants to teachers for innovative ideas in the classroom. During a typical year, the Foundation receives a number of proposals requesting funds to help start or supplement teaching in the classroom. After a thorough review, the Foundation board votes to fund approximately 20 grants, distributing over $30,000 to district schools. These projects serve thousands of students in all grades in the district.

2020 - 2021 Teacher Classroom Grants

Green Valley Elementary School, Melissa Wilcox mwillcox@hoover.k12.al.us
The Gator Creator STEAM Lab
$ 2,000 STEAM Emphasis

South Shades Crest Elementary, School, Mary Smith
marysmith@hoover.k12.al.us
All Aboard!
$ 1,800 Coding/Stem Emphasis

Brock's Gap Intermediate School, Meghen Denson
mdenson@hoover.k12.al.us
Geography via Arts & DCLS
$ 2,000 Digital Literacy and Computer Science Emphasis

Simmons Middle School, Krystal Pettit
kpettit@hoover.k12.al.us
Simmons Greenhouse
$ 2,000, Science Emphasis

Simmons Middle School, Robert Abernathy
rabernathy@hoover.k12.al.us
Horticulture Interactive Web page
$ 2,000 And Greenhouse Supplies, Science and Digital Literacy Emphasis

Deer Valley Elementary, Krista Fehler
kfehler@hoover.k12.al.us
Buzzing to "Bee" a Programmer
$ 2,000, Digital Literacy Emphasis

Shades Mtn.Elementary, Marjorie Keeney
mkeeney@hoover.k12.al.us
Full STEAM Ahead
$ 1,800 STEAM emphasis

System-Wide, GEMS, Girls Engaged in Math and Science,
led by Geri Evans
gevans@hoover.k12.al.us
$2,000 STEM emphasis